Divine • Anarchy (2017)

for six performers
Bass Flute (+ Piccolo), Bass Clarinet, Violin, Cello, Piano, Percussion
Commissioned by Waverly Project NYU
Premiere: Talea Ensemble, Conductor: Jeffrey Means
Dimenna Center in New York, April 8th, 2017
Duration: 23’min



Divine Anarchy consists of 28 fragments, which appear to be diverse and heterogeneous regarding their duration, texture, and sonic qualities. Regarding duration, the fragments range from less than a second to two minutes, while regarding their texture and sonic qualities, they range from rich, thick, and complex sonic configurations, in which sounds are seamlessly interwoven into each other, to thin and transparent sounds, which stand out as exposed, quite, and fragile. The an-archic juxtaposition of the fragments is underpinned by an extensive use of silences. In other words, the fragments are constantly interrupted either abruptly or smoothly by silences, which, in a way, enhance the an-archic structure and the non-causal emergence of the sounds. I strive to discover unity in plurality, wholeness in multiplicity, and principles in the an-archic display of the different fragments and of their sonic properties. It is in this sense that ‘divine’ is attached to ‘anarchy’ as its essential predicate adjective.

Αγία Αναρχία
Δαγκώνει τά χείλη της καθώς ἡ ἀστροβροχή συνεχίζει νά πέφτει
Ἀγκαλιάζει τά παιδιά της
Τούς μιλᾶ γιά τήν Ἁγία Ἀναρχία
Τό ὁπλισμένο χέρι της
Τή νεανική της φλόγα
Τήν περπατησιά της
Τό θάρρος της ὃταν πυροβολεῖ τόν καθρέπτη καί τίς μισές λέξεις
Τήν ἱερή ὀργή της γιά τούς ἀνθρώπους ποὐ σιωποῦν στό φῶς τῆς ψυχῆς


Divine Anarchy
She bites her lips while the shooting stars continue to fall
Hugs her children
Speaks to them about the Divine Anarchy
Her armed hand
Her youthful flame
Her gait
Her courage when she shoots at the mirror and the half-spoken words
Her sacred rage at people who go silent before the light of the soul
Translated by Ioannis Angelakis

Other Performances:
mdi ensemble, Auditorium Lattuada, Rome, Italy, October 16, 2018

© 2020 Ioannis Angelakis